Food Trip: Italian Cooking Classes at Pino Kitchen Studio

19 February 2012

Food Trip: Italian Cooking Classes at Pino Kitchen Studio

I first met Celebrity chefs Ed Bugia, Nino Logarta, and Jonah Trinidad in early 2010 during Pino Kitchen’s Studio first press launch. I’ve been in contact with these three cool chefs ever since. They’d invite me to press launch events, coffee learning sessions, restaurant openings (e.g Brgr Project, Muruve, Pino Resto Bar), etc.

One of their many projects is Pino Kitchen Studio. Hey, I’ve had my bday celeb 2 years ago there too.

What is Pino Kitchen Studio?
Pino Resto Bar’s Executive Chef Edward Bugia, along with business partners PJ Lanot and Star Jose, team up with Qtv Celebrity chefs Nino Logarta and Jonah Trinidad to establish a one of a kind cooking workshop that aims to cater to the growing foodie market in the country. “Pino Kitchen Studio offers a variety of short courses that ranges from various basic International cuisines to specialty lessons for housewives, kids, household help, and more! Students can choose between day seminars and monthly/weekly short courses.” http://www.pinokitchenstudio.com/

I’ve had quite a few classes in Pino Kitchen Studio in 2011, from coffee learning session, to my unique cooking bday celebration (yes, instead of partying, I asked my friends to join me cook), to the recent Italian Cooking Class.

Why Italian cooking class? I say, “why not?” I love Italian cuisine. I love fresh tomatoes. I love fresh pasta. I adore risotto! So when I learned that Pino would have an Italian cooking class, I texted Chef Ed right away to reserve me a slot.

First Dish for the afternoon: Pasta
Most Filipinos use ready-to-cook pasta which is readily available in packed plastic bags in grocery stores. Chefs Ed and Nino taught the class on how to make pasta from scratch – – from making the dough, rolling the dough, and cutting it up.
copy Italian Cooking  008
Chef Nino demonstrating how to use the pasta maker while the others work by hand. Making pasta from scratch = tough love. You get to have bigger biceps after each batch of pasta.
copy Italian Cooking  024

copy Italian Cooking  026
I opted to have red pasta with mushrooms and olives.
copy Italian Cooking  032
Some opted for pesto.
copy Italian Cooking  014
copy Italian Cooking  033

We then made one of my have dishes – – Risotto!
copy Italian Cooking  012
Mushroom risotto made of arboria rice.
copy Italian Cooking  016

Next in the agenda was creating pizza from scratch. The class was given several toppings to choose from. I chose pepperoni, olives, green bell peppers, mushroom, and several globs of mozzarella cheese. See the before and after the oven pictures below.
copy Italian Cooking  017

Cooking classes at Pino Kitchen studio are always enjoyable, fun, and informative. Looking forward to learning Persian/Middle Eastern Cuisine, Thai Cuisine, and Japanese Cuisine next.

========

DETAILS
===================
Food Spot: Pino Kitchen Studio
Address: 39 Malingap St. Teachers Village, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
Telephone Number: +632.352.3755 and +63.915.453.6192
Website: http://www.pinokitchenstudio.com/
E-mail : pinokitchenstudio@gmail.com
Budget: PHP 1500 – 3000 per person per class
Map:

=====

More food travels listed here: https://mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com/mymai-food-trip/
International trips listed here: https://mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com/mymai-travel-its-fun-in-other-countries-too
But traveling is still more fun in the Philippines too: https://mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com/mymai-more-fun-in-the-philippines
Hobbies galore listed too: https://mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com/mymai-hobbies

=====

Feel free to leave your comments.

Explore the world we live in,

mai signature

Mai Pascua

Founder, mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com

Email: mailovestoeatandtravel@yahoo.com
Add me in Facebook: mailovestoeatandtravel

Leave a Reply

