Travel: Basco, Batanes Town Tour (Day One)

14 June 2010

 

Travel: Basco, Batanes Town Tour (Day One)

 

Batanes, the smallest province of the Philippines, lies at the northernmost tip of the country about 190 kilometers south of Taiwan and 860 kilometers North of Manila.

 

Getting There via Seair.

 

I was supposed to go to Batanes early June via Seair. However, given that Arman couldn’t file for leave, we had to book another flight and accept the 28,000 pesos fare difference. Gulp. Only to find out that he couldn’t make it to the new flight scheduled mid June due to some minor trouble he encountered with some men in uniform. I had to make the most out of my 3 days, 2 nights vacation in the Land of the Howling Winds — ALONE.

Batanes Airport copy

Batanes Airport 002 copy

 

Accommodation – Fundacion Pacita (Read blog here).


So, what should a lone tourist like me do in Batanes? Apparently, there were plenty. As soon as I arrived at the Basco Airport, I was promptly greeted by Ryan, one of the employees of the Fundacion Pacita, the bed and breakfast where I stayed at.

Fundacion Pacita is the best bed and breakfast in Batanes. Compared to the local accommodations, Fundacion Pacita might be a bit pricey. However, price is extremely reasonable given the breath-taking view you’d wake up to every morning, the superb customer service of the friendly staff, the artsy ambiance due to Pacita Abad’s gallery, the good food, and the cozy ambiance.

Tour
I was planning to rent some bikes to go and tour around town on my own. However, when Ryan drove me to Fundacion Pacita, I knew that a great deal of effort would be wasted on walking and pushing the bike up the hills.

Did I mention that Fundacion Pacita offers superb customer service? But wait there’s more. They offered a trip around Batanes for four hours, complimentary of lodge.

I decided to take the tour on my 2nd day, as one of my friends who has been working in Batanes was to tour me around the town proper on day 1.

My Day 1 – Tour around the Town Proper
First Glimpse of Greenery and Rolling Hills from the Airport
Batanes029 copy

Bikes, bikes, and more bikes
Batanes bikes bikes bikes copy

Lunch, Ivatan Cuisine at Hiro’s Cafe – (1) uvud balls made with pork, flying fish and banana tree stalk plus (2) vunes or dried gabi,

Batanes Hiro's Cafe

Town Proper
Batanes101 copy

Basco Church
Batanes104 copy

DETAILS:
=====================
Travel Date: 11 – 13 June 2010
Budget:

Accommodation at Fundacion Pacita for two nights: PHP 16,000
Tour: half day tour is free careof Fundacion Pacita – I wanted to go to the Southern part of Batan Island, hence I had to pay extra (PHP 250 per hour)
Address: Fundacion Pacita Batanes Nature Lodge, Brgy. Chanarian-Tukon, Basco, Batanes
Telephone Number: +63.927.290.2404
Website: http://www.fundacionpacita.ph

Others:

Batanes, here I come (read blog here)
Accommodation: Fundacion Pacita (Read blog here.)

Batanes Day 1 – Tour around the Town Proper (read blog here)

Batanes Day 2 – Batan Island Tour

  • Radar Tukon
  • Dipnaysupuan Japanese Tunnel
  • Valugan Bay (Boulder Beach)
  • Chawa View Deck
  • San Carlos Borromeo Church
  • House of Dakay
  • San Jose de Ivana Church
  • Honesty Cafe
  • Alapad of Loran
  • Ruins of Songsong
  • Racuh-A-Payaman (Marlboro Country)
  • Vayang Ranch (Rolling Hills)
  • Basco Lighthouse
  • Tukon Church

Batanes Day 3 – Leaving Batan Island (read blog here)

Explore the world we live in,

mai signature

Mai Pascua

Founder, mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com

Email: mailovestoeatandtravel@yahoo.com
Add me in Facebook: mailovestoeatandtravel

Leave a Reply

