Food Trip: Oh My Gulay

14 May 2010

 

Food Trip: Oh My Gulay

 

In the heart of Baguio City, amidst the Pine City’s hustle and bustle exists an eclectic artsy Dr-Seuss-like restaurant called Oh My Gulay.

 

I’ve wanted to go to this restaurant since late March. Surprisingly, most of the Baguio residents I have spoken with were not familiar with the restaurant. I had to ‘google-map’ my way to the resto, asked the family driver to park the car in the SM Baguio parking area, and set on foot along busy Session Road to look for La Azotea Building. This vegetarian restaurant is located at the penthouse of La Azotea Building along Session Road. Please note that there are no elevators in the mentioned building. Hence, guests would have to climb 4 flights of stairs to dine at OMG. The effort to climb the 4 flights of stairs was worth it. Why? Read on.

 

Baguio’s Never Never Land

Oh My Gulay007 copy

Oh My Gulay033 copy

 

Oh My Gulay is artist Eric de Guia aka Kidlat Tahimik’s vegetarian restaurant which reflects interesting unstructured framework. Yes, interesting “unstructured framework” — think whimsical decors, non-matching arts and antiques, crooked walls and non-perpendicular corners. It is extremely interestingly and beautifully decorated, and it should be so given that (1) artist Kidlat Tahimik owns this resto and (2) it shares its space with Victor Oteyza Community Art Space (VOCAS).

Oh My Gulay002 copy

 

To the Penthouse

Oh My Gulay006 copy

 

Artsy Resto
Oh My Gulay012 copy

Oh My Gulay036 copy

Oh My Gulay072 copy

 

Different areas to explore
Oh My Gulay013 copy

Oh My Gulay022 copy

Oh My Gulay065 copy

 

What is VOCAS?  VOCAS is an energy centrum for creative talents of the Cordilleras. Built in memory of Victor Oteyza, the Baguio artist who was one of the 13 Modern Artist in the 1950s. This movement in Post-war Ermita included H. Ocampo, V. Edades, C. Legaspi, L. Tabuena, A. Magsaysay-Ho, among whom the only Baguio boy was Vic. VOCAS was designed to host visual arts exhibits, original music concerts, homegrown theater and literature, local films and traditional art from the Igorot culture. Hopefully, this will inspire more indio-genius creations from the north. Victor Oteyza, your spirit lives on… “–from VOCAS FB group

 

VOCAS area and stage at the Penthouse

Oh My Gulay009 copy

Oh My Gulay025 copy

 

Oh My Gulay serves individually cooked dishes. It has generous servings of vegetarian pasta dishes, dayap tea, highland coffee, organic salad, etc. By and large, Oh My Gulay serves good food and lets you dine in an artsy ambience while enjoying the foggy view of Central Baguio. I highly recommend that you stay at the coolest (literally coolest and chilliest) area of the restaurant – – the balcony. Don’t forget to bring your jacket, then eat your lunch/dinner, and enjoy the view.

Oh My Gulay047 copy

 

========================
Restaurant: Oh My Gulay
Address: 5th Level, La Azotea Bldg., Session Road, Baguio, Benguet, Philippines

Telephone Number: +63918. 667.6025

Website: TBA

Budget: PHP 200 – 499 per person

Others: Looking for Oh My Gulay is an adventure in itself. I had to “gogle-map” my way to the resto. If you would want to start your adventure too, from SM Baguio, set on foot and go down session road. By foot, La Azotea is roughly around 5 minutes away from SM Baguio. Stay at the left side of session road. La Azotea should be at your left, after Pizza Hut and KFC. As soon as you see La Azotea building, prepare yourself for the climb up the Penthouse (read: 4 flights of stairs). Enjoy the meal (e.g. chow chow and pasta meztizo), ambiance, artworks, and view!

Feel free to leave your comments.

 

Explore the world we live in,

mai signature

Mai Pascua

Founder, mailovestoeatandtravel.wordpress.com

Email: mailovestoeatandtravel@yahoo.com
Add me in Facebook: mailovestoeatandtravel

One thought on “Food Trip: Oh My Gulay

Leave a Reply

